Synopsis Fun on the Internet!

Uncategorized

Okay, if you’ve ever tried to write a synopsis, you know that the title of this post is a big, fat lie. Synopses are hard to write. How do you whittle a 400 page book down to a few pages? How can you convey the brilliance of your characters in such little space?

I detest trying to write synopses. Hate them! But, like spam and taxes, they seem to be a part of life, particularly if you’re interested in getting a novel-length work published. Well, the publishing gods have named today Synopsis Day and there will be much rejoicing in the streets! Okay, maybe a little joyous reading in the blogosphere. Either way, today, 22 published authors write about how to create an effective synopsis. Want to read along? Here they are:

Maria V. Snyder: http://blog.myspace.com/mariavsnyder

Patricia Bray: http://www.sff.net/people/patriciabray/synopsis.html

Chaz Brenchley: http://desperance.livejournal.com

Mike Brotherton: http://www.mikebrotherton.com

Tobias Buckell: http://www.tobiasbuckell.com/2008/02/01/ask-me-a-question-was-crystal-rain-sold-as-part-of-a-series

S.C.Butler: http://scbutler.livejournal.com

Barbara Campbell: www.barbara-campbell.com/inside.htm

David B. Coe: http://davidbcoe.livejournal.com

Jennifer Dunne: http://jennifer_dunne.livejournal.com

S.L. Farrell: http://sleigh.livejournal.com

Diana Francis: http://difrancis.livejournal.com

Gregory Frost: http://frostokovich.livejournal.com

Felix Gilman: http://www.felixgilman.com/wordpress

Jim C. Hines: http://jimhines.livejournal.com

Jackie Kessler: http://www.jackiekessler.com/blog

Mindy Klasky: http://mindyklasky.livejournal.com

Misty Massey: http://madkestrel.livejournal.com

C.E. Murphy: http://mizkit.livejournal.com

Naomi Novik: http://naominovik.livejournal.com

Joshua Palmatier: http://jpsorrow.livejournal.com

Jennifer Stevenson: http://smokingpigeon.livejournal.com

Michelle West: http://msagara.livejournal.com

Sean Williams: http://ladnews.livejournal.com

Read and learn! 🙂

Previous Story
Next Story

You Might Also Like

3 Comments

  • Reply
    Kevin
    March 19, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Egads, this is fabulous! 😀 Synopsis is always a pain, thanks for this!

  • Reply
    Rika
    March 19, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    I’ve just discovered your blog via Blog Catalog, and I love it!

    I very much agree with your opinions. It is so difficult to shorten masterpieces because we have put so much effort into creating witty lines and subplots to compliment our main plot that we cannot bear to cut them out!

    Working backwards is much easier but that doesn’t really count; Orson Scott Card’s novel Ender’s Game started as a short story.

    Keep posting!!!

    -Rika

  • Reply
    JB
    March 23, 2008 at 6:03 am

    very helpful blog. keep this up.

  • Chime in!